Jump to Navigation
0808 250 7442

The Galapagos

The Galapagos Islands are located at the Equator 1,000km or 600 nautical miles off the Ecuadorian coast in South America. They consist of 61 islands and islets, with 13 main islands. The total land area is 7,882 square kilometers within a marine reserve of 45,000 square kilometers. The 13 main islands are Baltra, Española, Fernandina, Floreana, Genovesa, Isabela, Marchena, Pinta, Pinzon, San Cristobal, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago. The Galapagos sprouted out of the Pacific from a sub oceanic lava vent on the ocean floor. The same process created the Hawaiian Islands, and nowadays this process continues in both island groups. 

1 of 15
Blue footed boobies
Blue footed boobies
Blue footed boobies
Close up of a seal
Seal on the beach
On land
Blue footed booby
Giant tortoise
Colourful crab
Marine Iguana
Blue footed boobies
Getting up close to wildlife
Marine Iguana
Frigate Bird
Baby seal